## 2020 CANDIDATE FILING INFORMATION FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

(Filing Opens - December 2, 2019 at Noon -- Filing Closes - December 20, 2019 at Noon)\* (Soil and Water - Filing opens - June 8, 2020 at Noon - Filing Closes - July 6, 2020 at Noon)

OFFICE	<u>SEATS</u>	INCUMBENT	LENGTH OF TERM	LOCATION	FILING FEE**
US Senate	1	Thom Tillis (R)	6 years	State BOE	\$ 1,740
US House of Representatives 6 <sup>th</sup> District	1	Mark Walker (R) (Forsyth and Guilford)	2 years	State BOE	\$ 1,740
10 <sup>th</sup> District (Ca	1 tawba, Foi	Patrick McHenry (R) rsyth, Iredell, Lincoln, Rocking	2 years ham, Stokes, Surry, Yadkin)	State BOE	\$1,740
State Senate 31 <sup>st</sup> District 32 <sup>nd</sup> District	1 1	Joyce Krawiec (R) Paul A. Lowe (D)	2 years 2 years	County BOE County BOE	\$ 140 \$ 140
State House 71 <sup>st</sup> District 72 <sup>nd</sup> District 73 <sup>rd</sup> District 74 <sup>th</sup> District 75 <sup>th</sup> District	1 1 1 1	Evelyn Terry (D) Derwin Montgomery (D) Lee Zachary(R) Debra Conrad (R) Donny Lambeth (R)	2 years 2 years 2 years 2 years 2 years 2 years	County BOE County BOE County BOE County BOE County BOE	\$ 140 \$ 140 \$ 140 \$ 140 \$ 140 \$ 140
Superior Court Judge – 21B Superior Court Judge – 21D	1 1	David L. Hall (NP) L. Todd Burke (NP)	8 years 8 years	State BOE State BOE	\$ 1,386 \$ 1,386
District Court Judge – 21 <sup>st</sup> District District Court Judge – 21 <sup>st</sup> District	1 1 1 1 1 1	Camille Banks Prince (NP) Lawrence Fine (NP) Laurie Hutchins (NP) Gordon Miller (NP) Victoria Roemer (NP) David Sipprell (NP) Carrie Vickery (NP)	4 years 4 years 4 years 4 years 4 years 4 years 4 years 4 years	State BOE State BOE State BOE State BOE State BOE State BOE State BOE	\$ 1,220 \$ 1,220 \$ 1,220 \$ 1,220 \$ 1,220 \$ 1,220 \$ 1,220 \$ 1,220
Clerk of Superior Court (Unexpired Term)	1	Renita Thompkins Linville (D	) 2 years	County BOE	\$ 1,275
County Commissioner – District B	1 1 1	Richard Linville (R) Dave Plyler (R) Gloria D. Whisenhunt (R)	4 years 4 years 4 years	County BOE County BOE County BOE	\$205 \$205 \$205
County Register of Deeds	1	Lynne Johnson (D)	4 years	County BOE	\$ 784
Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor	1	Timothy (Tim) Disher (NP)	4 years	County BOE	\$5
Winston Salem Mayor	1	Allen Joines (D)	4 years	County BOE	\$5
Winston Salem City Council					
East Ward North Ward Northeast Ward South Ward Southeast Ward Southeest Ward West Ward	1 1 1 1 1 1 1	Annette Scippio (D) Denise Adams (D) Vivian Burke (D) Jeffrey MacIntosh (D) John Larson (D) James Taylor, Jr. (D) Daniel Besse (D) Robert Clark (R)	4 years 4 years 4 years 4 years 4 years 4 years 4 years 4 years	County BOE County BOE County BOE County BOE County BOE County BOE County BOE	\$ 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 5

Primary March 3, 2020 2<sup>nd</sup> Primary (if necessary-April 21, 2020 or May 12, 2020)

General Election Nov. 3, 2020

**REGISTRATION DEADLINES** 

Primary Election - February 7, 2020

ELECTION DATES

General Election – October 9, 2020

## QUALIFICATIONS TO HOLD OFFICE

**Registered Voter** 1.

Twenty-one (21) years of age; NC Const., Art. VI, sec. 6 (Exceptions - 25 years of age - State Senate; NC Const., Art. II, Sec. 6). 2.

3. Affiliated with political party for 90 days by date of filing Notice of Candidacy (i.e. if filing on last day of filing period, party affiliation must have been changed by September 21, 2019)

Residency Requirement (State Senate - 2 years in State, 1 year in district, NC Const., Art. II, Sec. 6); (State House, 1 year in district, NC Const., 4. Art. II, Sec. 7); County Commissioner and Superior Court Judges must reside in the district; Congress - NC resident, residence not required in the district.

\*\*The filing fee is calculated by one percent of the annual starting salary of the office.

\*\*\* Deadline for all candidates to withdraw Notice of Candidacy - December 17, 2019

\*\*\*\*Deadline for Soil and Water candidates to withdraw Notice of Candidacy – June 30, 2020