

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Video Conference Absentee Board Meeting Agenda

October 22, 2020 – 5 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments

If you wish to speak, please click on this link <u>https://meet.google.com/dim-vuhq-bne</u> at 4:45 pm on the day of the meeting and inform the Board Clerk. You will be recognized to speak during the public comment period in the order you have joined the meeting. The Chairperson will also ask for any additional speakers before the meeting is called to order.

- 5. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 6. Approval of Absentee Ballots
- 7. Pre-processing of Absentee Ballots
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes October 22, 2020 – 5:00 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order on October 22, 2020 at 5:05 p.m. Chairperson Campbell presiding.

Board Members in attendance :	Chairperson Susan Campbell, Secretary
	Robert Durrah, Member Stuart Russell, Member John
	Loughridge, and Member Catherine Jourdan

Staff Members in attendance:Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Michelle Bobadilla, Monica
Gray, Kanitha Davis-Englebert, Danielle Malone, Shante'
Blakes, Angela Jones, Adrienne Bohen, Carlton Morgan, Clint
Mooney, Nicole Winfield and Sherry Glen

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Campbell led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Campbell called for a moment of silence.

Public Comments

Chairperson Campbell called for public comments, providing two minutes for each speaker: No public comments.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Secretary Durrah moved to table the approval of the October 20, 2020 minutes; Seconded by Member Russell; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Other Business

Approval of Absentee Ballots

Ms. Gary presented 4,286 civilian ballots, 7 military ballots and 11 overseas ballots equaling a total of 4,304 ballots that have been preliminarily approved.

Ms. Gary reported that there were 103 disapproved ballots. Of the 103 disapproved ballots, 39 were sent cure certification letters and 64 were re-issued ballots.

Director Tsujii presented 18,279 One-Stop Early Voting applications as of 10/20/2020 through 10/21/2020. The cumulative total for One-Stop Early Voting is 62,214. Secretary Durrah moved to approve the 18,279 Early Voting applications; Seconded by Member Loughridge. **Motion carried unanimously.**

The Board members reviewed a tabled overseas ballot. It was tabled from the last meeting for further research and inquiry due to the nature of its return from within the United States. Director Tsujii contacted the State of North Carolina State Board of Elections for their guidance. The State Board of Elections clarified that because the civilian is no longer overseas and is back in the United States, they do not qualify for the Federal Post Card Application Ballot (FPCA). The voter will be notified. Member Loughridge moved to disapprove the ballot; Seconded by Member Russell. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Director Tsujii provided a list of Republican Observers for approval. Member Jourdan motioned to approve; Seconded by Member Russell. **Motion carried unanimously**.

The Director asked the Board Members to sign the zero report for both high-speed scanners. All Board Members signed the report.

Pre-processing of absentee ballots began at 5:36 p.m.

Secretary Durrah left the meeting at 8:28 p.m. and returned at 8:52 p.m.

Ms. Gary presented to the Board Members the revised absentee by-mail totals of 4,284 civilian, 11 overseas and 7 military, with a total of 4,302. There were 105 disapproved absentee ballots. Member Russell moved to approve 4,302 approved and 105 disapproved absentee ballots; Seconded by Member Loughridge. **Motion carried unanimously**.

Adjournment

Member Russell moved to recess the Board meeting; Seconded by Secretary Durrah; Motion carried unanimously.

Meeting went into recess at 10:50 p.m.

Approved:

s/ Susan Campbell Chair

s/ Robert Durrah Secretary

s/ Stuart Russell Member

s/ John Loughridge Member

s/Catherine Jourdan Member