BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Susan Campbell Chairperson

Stuart Russell Vice-Chair

Robert Durrah, Jr. Secretary

John Loughridge, Jr. Member



Tim Tsujii Director

Lamar Joyner Deputy Director

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Agenda April 24, 2018

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Absentee Ballots
- 6. Approval of Minutes
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Closed Session
- 9. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes April 24, 2018

Meeting Called to Order

A meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the second floor meeting room on April 24, 2018 at 5:00 p.m., Chairperson Campbell presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairperson Campbell, Vice-Chairman Russell, Secretary Durrah, and Member Loughridge

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Lamar Joyner, Monica Gary, and Kimberly Stuck

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Campbell led the pledge of allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Campbell led a moment of silence.

Public Comment Session

Chairperson Campbell called for public comments, none offered.

Approval of Absentee Ballots

Mr. Tsujii requested Approval of Absentee Ballots be tabled to later in the meeting and that the Board consider the Approval of Minutes.

Approval of Minutes

Secretary Durrah moved to approve the minutes as submitted; Vice-Chairman Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Other Business

Ms. Teal addressed poll worker positions that had become vacant and the need to fill positions as quickly as possible.

Director Tsujii stated that the office had been contacted by someone in the community regarding the use of schools and safety concerns. Mr. Tsujii stated that the Forsyth County School Board (School Board) is having a meeting to discuss the subject that evening. Director Tsujii also noted that the Board of Elections Staff has done a survey regarding use of schools and found that rural areas do make moves more complicated. The School Board did provide a list of concerns, highlighting those of greater significance. Secretary Durrah inquired where the question arose; Mr. Tsujii stated that it came from a parent of a student at Clemmons Elementary School. Chairperson Campbell inquired if it was regarding exterior entrances. Deputy Director Joyner stated that in 2015 the schools addressed concerns about voters walking through the school rather than exterior entrances. Director Tsujii addressed the issues of the parent and directed her to the School Board. Secretary Durrah stated voters and students in same place is a concern.

Chairperson Campbell asked if chatting with the School Board would be beneficial; additionally asking if there was anyway to help. Mr. Tsujii stated that short term solutions are going to be addressed and encouraged the Board to await any decisions from the School Board meeting and assured the Board that any additional information would be shared.

Director Tsujii presented to the Board a draft of the Emergency Contingency Plan for review noting that Forsyth County Risk Management had received it and will be making minor changes. A complete copy would be provided once revisions had been made by Risk Management.

Approval of Absentee Ballots

Ms. Gary recommended 46 Absentee ballots for approval. Ms. Gary presented the Board with the absentee ballots received for review of the notary seals as well as witness signatures. Secretary Durrah inquired if the witness signatures were verified registered voters; Director Tsujii stated that the witnesses are not required to be registered. Ms. Gary presented the Board with one absentee ballot that was disapproved but reissued. Vice-Chairman Russell moved to approve the absentee ballots presented; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Adjournment

Secretary Durrah moved to adjourn the meeting; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**. Meeting adjourned 5:39 p.m.

Approved:

Susan Campbell, Chair	Date
Stuart Russell, Vice Chair	Date
Robert Durrah, Secretary	Date
John Loughridge, Member	Date