

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Board Meeting Agenda May 16, 2022 – 4:00 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence

Persons who wish to speak concerning items on this agenda, or who wish to speak about a matter relating to Forsyth County elections should complete a speaker card and hand it to the Clerk before the meeting is called to order.

- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Absentee Ballots
- 6. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 7. Approval of Precinct Officials for the 2022 Primary Election
- 8. Approval of Observers List for the 2022 Primary Election
- 9. Other Business
- 10. Closed Session (if necessary)
- 11. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes May 16, 2022 – 5:00 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

An absentee meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order on the fourth floor training room on Tuesday, May 16, 2022 at **4:09** p.m., Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr. presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr., Secretary Catherine Jourdan, Member Chad Doomy, Member Alfred Harvey, Member Adam Draper

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Michelle Bobadilla, Carma Buchanan, Louise Lash, Tricia Starkey, Danielle Malone

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Robert Durrah led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Robert Durrah led a moment of silence.

Public Comments

Chairperson Robert Durrah called for public comments. None.

Approval of Absentee Ballots

Mrs. Lash, Absentee Voting Manager, presented the Board with 253 total absentee ballots for review, including 2 military and 4 overseas ballots; 12 of which are to be disapproved.

Member Doomy discussed concern regarding one ballot whose seal is only half secured.

Director Tsujii presented two One-Stop ballots from curbside voters that were overmarked with a line through the front of the ballots info in order to spoilt it. Ballots were remarked by Board Members.

Two ballots did not scan in the high speed central counter: both were marked spoiled, the board members duplicated the ballots that were spoiled; and the two ballots were rescanned through the scanner.

Member Doomy moved to approve the 250 approved ballots which included 2 military and 4 overseas ballots and to disapprove 15 ballots; Member Harvey seconded. Motion carried unanimously with Member Doomy's noted concern of the one approved ballot which was half sealed.

Board Members signed absentee voter reports for the approved and disapproved ballots.

Board Members signed the Zero Reports for the DS850 high-speed scanner.

Board Members signed the Executed Absentee Ballots Report (Name Sequence Grouped by Precinct).

Director Tsujii presented the Board with the One-Stop Votes for May 10-14, 2022. Member Doomy moved to approve the 7,473 votes from May 10 - 14, 2022; Member Harvey seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

Board Members signed the One-Stop Voting Report.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Amended meeting minutes for May 3, 2022 presented and signed by the Board which were previously approved on May 10, 2022 with the caveat for inclusion of amended wording.

Member Doomy moved to approve the meeting minutes for May 10, 2022, as submitted; Member Draper seconded; **Motion carried unanimously.**

Approval of Precinct Officials for the 2022 Primary Election

Ms. Malone presented the Board with the newest update of the precinct officials list for the primary election. Member Draper moved to approve the updated list of precinct officials; Member Doomy seconded. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Approval of Observers List for the 2022 Primary Election

Director Tsujii presented the Board with the updated observers list for the primary election. Member Doomy moved to approve the updated observers list for the primary election; Member Harvey seconded. **Motioned carried unanimously.**

Other Business

None

Adjournment

Member Doomy moved to adjourn; Member Jourdan seconded. Motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 6:47 p.m.

s:/Robert Durrah, Jr.

Chairperson

s:/Catherine Jourdan

Secretary

s:/Alfred Harvey

Member

s:/Adam Draper

Member