

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Board Meeting Agenda May 26, 2022 – 5:00 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence

Persons who wish to speak concerning items on this agenda, or who wish to speak about a matter relating to Forsyth County elections should complete a speaker card and hand it to the Clerk before the meeting is called to order.

- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Absentee Ballots
- 6. Approval of Provisional Ballots
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Closed Session (if necessary)
- 9. Adjournment

May 26, 2022 – 5:00 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A supplemental absentee meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order on the second floor Board Room on Thursday, May 26, 2022 at **5:01** p.m., Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr. presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairperson Robert Durrah, Jr., Secretary Catherine Jourdan, Member Chad Doomy, Member Alfred Harvey, Member Adam Draper

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Michelle Bobadilla, Carma Buchanan, Louise Lash, Tricia Starkey, Adam Clark, Nate Gladding

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Robert Durrah led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Robert Durrah led a moment of silence.

Public Comments

Chairperson Robert Durrah called for public comments: None

Approval of Absentee Ballots

Mrs. Lash presented the Board with 285 total absentee ballots for review; 56 of which are to be disapproved. Of the 229 ballots to approve 3 are overseas ballots and 2 military ballots. She also presented to the Board 1 ballot for pending a cure certification.

Seven ballots did not scan in the high-speed central counter: all seven were marked spoiled; the board members duplicated the seven that were spoiled; and the seven ballots were then scanned through the high-speed central counter.

Member Draper moved to approve the 229 approved ballots which included 3 overseas ballots and to disapprove 56 ballots; Member Harvey seconded. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Board Members signed absentee voter reports for approved and disapproved ballots.

Board members signed the Zero Reports for the DS850 high-speed scanner.

Approval of Provisional Ballots

Mr. Gladding presented the Board with 262 total provisional ballots from Election Day and One-Stop Early Voting for review; 92 of which are not approved (47 individuals voted for the party they are not registered for and 44 individuals were not registered). Of the 170 provisional ballots to approve 41 were partial approvals.

Two ballots did not scan in the high-speed central counter: both were marked spoiled; the board members duplicated the two that were spoiled; and the two ballots were then scanned through the high-speed central counter.

Member Doomy moved to approve 129 provisional ballots, partially approve 41 provisional ballots, and disapprove 92 provisional ballots; Member Harvey seconded. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Other Business

Review of Duplicated Ballots Un-scanned at Polling Places on Election Day:

Director Tim Tsujii presented to the Board 3 un-scanned ballots from Election Day for review and approval. Precinct 602 had 1 curbside ballot that did not read in the scanner due to improper markings, the ballot was accidently marked as spoiled and should have been counted. The Chief Judge secured the ballot for remark at the Board of Elections Board Meeting. Precinct 505 had 1 ballot that jammed in the scanner which did not scan. The ballot was secured for remark at the Board of Elections Board Meeting. Precinct 051 had 1 ballot that did not scan due to mismarking. Ballot was secured for remarking at the Board of Elections Board Meeting.

Member Doomy moved to approved the 3 duplicated ballots from precincts 602, 505, and 051; Secretary Jourdan seconded. **Motion carried unanimously.**

The Board will discuss One-Stop Early Voting sites for the 2022 General Election at their next Board Meeting.

Adjournment

Member Doomy moved to adjourn; Member Harvey seconded. Motion carried **unanimously.** Meeting adjourned at 8:01 p.m.

Approved:

s:/Robert Durrah, Jr.

Chairperson

s:/Catherine Jourdan

Secretary

s:/Alfred Harvey

Member

s:/Adam Draper

Member