BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Ken Raymond Chairman

Secretary

Fleming El-Amin Member



FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS BOARD MEETING MINUTES – JULY 22, 2014 2ND PRIMARY ELECTION CANVASS DAY

Meeting Called to Order

The 2nd Primary Election Canvass Day meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was held in the fourth floor meeting room on July 22, 2014. The meeting convened at 11:00 AM, Chairman Ken Raymond presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairman Ken Raymond, Secretary Stuart Russell, Member Fleming El-Amin

Staff Members in attendance: Interim Director Lamar Joyner, Josh Chunn, Chris Duffey, Jacob Wright, Carlton Morgan Other County Staff - Lonnie Albright

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Raymond led the pledge of allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairman Raymond led a moment of silence.

Hand/Eye Audit

Mr. Joyner suggested that the staff should conduct the mandatory hand/eye audit with the Board in attendance in the 2nd floor storage room. The purpose of the audit is to compare the number of actual paper ballots counted against the Election Night machine count. Precinct 075 – New Hope AME Zion Church (2 votes) for US House of Rep. District 5-Dem.; Precinct 708 – Little Creek Recreation Center (29 votes) for US House of Rep. District 5-Dem.; were randomly chosen by the State Board of Elections for the hand/eye audit after the 2014 Second Primary Election. After the ballots were removed from the sealed ballot boxes, a team of three employees completed the hand/eye audit. The team members marked each precinct reconciliation tally sheet with fence posting to record all votes. Each Precinct audit vote totals matched exactly with the Election Night report.

Approval of Absentee Ballots Returned

Mr. Joyner explained that state law requires that the supplemental absentee ballots received after Election Day but postmarked by Election Day are approved as timely transmitted. A postmark is required for approval of the supplemental absentee ballots. Mr. Chunn recommended one supplemental absentee ballot for approval and five supplemental absentee ballots for disapproval. Member El-Amin moved and Secretary Russell seconded a motion to send a letter to voters with disapproved absentee ballots explaining the reason for disapproval. Motion carried unanimously.

Chairman Raymond made a motion to approve the staff recommendation of supplemental absentee ballots as presented and modified. **Motion carried unanimously.** Board members signed the Absentee Abstract of Votes and the Civilian and Military Certificate of Oath documents.

Approval of Provisional Ballots

Mr. Joyner explained the Provisional Voters Statistics by Result report showing three provisional ballots from the 2014 Second Primary Election. Staff recommended zero provisional ballots for approval and three for disapproval. Reasons for disapproval were not eligible to vote and no registration. Voter registration and updates are processed from the provisional information. Member El-Amin moved and Secretary Russell seconded a motion to approve the staff recommendation for provisional ballots as presented. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Public Comment Session

Chairman Raymond opened the public comment session with instructions. Speakers were asked to complete a public comment card and would have two minutes or less to speak. The speaker's name and address should be stated for the record. Questions should be included during the allotted time and answers would be given at the close of the session. A speaker's time could not be given to another individual. At the close of the public comment session, no additional statements or questions would be heard from the public. The public comment session included the following speakers:

James Knox - 125 Buckhaven Court, Rural Hall, NC 27045 Anne Wilson - 445 Marshall View Court, Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Charles Wilson - 445 Marshall View Court, Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Robert Woodruff - 4836 Disher Street, Winston-Salem, NC 27105 Jimmy Boyd - 1028 E. Devonshire Street, Winston-Salem, NC 27107 PJ Lofland - 1460 Lake Cottage Road, Clemmons, NC 27012 Susan Campbell - 1208 Brookstown Avenue, Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Sandra Mock - 6680 Shallowford Road, Lewisville, NC 27023 Amshatar Monroe - 407 Summergate Drive, Winston-Salem, NC 27103 Dan Besse - 235-B New Drive, Winston-Salem, NC 27103 Gwen Parker - 3217 Pennington Lane, Winston-Salem, NC 27106 Carly Williams - 1001 Glencairn Road, Winston-Salem, NC 27107

Early Voting Discussion

After listening to comments from concerned citizens, Board Members gave their ideas on each proposed plan that was presented. Weekend voting and voting after normal business hours were much of the topics of concern. The decision on the schedule was made first, which included Sunday voting and evening voting. After debating over locations, the Board decided on nine satellite sites within the county with one alternate site. The Early Voting plan was presented and approved unanimously by the Board. Please see the plan below.

Early Voting Hours Calculator										
Board of Elections Location						Additional Locations = 9				
1. BOE					2. Clemmons Library	3. Kernersville Library	4. Lewisville Library	5. Walkertown Library	6. Mazie Woodruff (Carver School Rd.)	
	-					7. Old Town Rec Center	8. South Fork Rec Center	9. Polo Park Rec Center	10. Sedge Garden Rec Center	NOTE: Brown Douglas as alternate for South Fork
Counter	Day	Start Time	End Time	Hours Count	Date	Counter	Day	Start Time	End Time	Hours Count
Day 10	Thursday	8:30 AM	6:00 PM	9:30	23-Oct	Day 10	Thursday			0:00
Day 9	Friday	8:30 AM	6:00 PM	9:30	24-Oct	Day 9	Friday			0:00
Day 8	Saturday			0:00	25-Oct	Day 8	Saturday			0:00
Day 7	Sunday	1:00 PM	5:00 PM	4:00	26-Oct	Day 7	Sunday			0:00
Day 6	Monday	8:30 AM	6:00 PM	9:30	27-Oct	Day 6	Monday	10:00 AM	7:00 PM	9:00
Day 5	Tuesday	8:30 AM	6:00 PM	9:30	28-Oct	Day 5	Tuesday	10:00 AM	7:00 PM	9:00
Day4	Wednesday	8:30 AM	6:00 PM	9:30	29-Oct	Day 4	Wednesday	10:00 AM	7:00 PM	9:00
Day 3	Thursday	8:30 AM	6:00 PM	9:30	30-Oct	Day 3	Thursday	10:00 AM	5:00 PM	7:00
Day 2	Friday	8:30 AM	6:00 PM	9:30	31-Oct	Day 2	Friday	10:00 AM	5:00 PM	7:00
Day 1	Saturday	10:00 AM	1:00 PM	3:00	1-Nov	Day 1	Saturday			0:00
Total Hours for BOE Location				73.5		Sum				41
						Number of Additional Locations				9
						Total Hours for Additional Locations				369

Total Hours for All Locations	442.5		
Difference in hours match	19.5		

Approval of Minutes

Chairman Raymond requested that the Board members review the minutes of July 15 at 2 PM & July 15 at 5 PM. Secretary Russell moved and Member El-Amin seconded a motion to approve the Board minutes of July 15, 2014 at 5 PM. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Secretary Russell suggested amending the minutes from July 15, 2014 at 2 PM.

Certify Election Results

Member El-Amin made and Secretary Russell seconded a motion to certify the election results for the 2014 Second Primary Election. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Board members signed the Abstract of Votes document which would be mailed to the NC State Board of Elections, Forsyth County Clerk of Superior Court and retained at the Forsyth County Board of Elections.

Other Business

Chairman Raymond stated that the next meeting will be a closed session meeting on July 28, 2014 at 9 AM in the Human Resources conference room. Mr. Joyner stated that there are a few items that should be on the Board's radar to discuss: WS/FCS polling locations, a new polling location for Precinct 904 (Mission Hispana) and NCSBE Conference on August 6-7, 2014.

Adjournment

Member El-Amin made and Secretary Russell seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting. **Motion** carried unanimously and the meeting was adjourned.

Approved:

Ken Raymond, Chair

Stuart Russell, Secretary

Fleming El-Amin, Member

Attachments on File 2014 Second Primary Election Abstract of Votes for State of North Carolina, 2014 General Election Early Voting Plan

Date

Date

Date