

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Video Conference Absentee Board Meeting Agenda

November 3, 2020 – 2 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments

If you wish to speak, please click on this link <u>https://meet.google.com/dim-vuhq-bne</u> at 4:45 pm on the day of the meeting and inform the Board Clerk. You will be recognized to speak during the public comment period in the order you have joined the meeting. The Chairperson will also ask for any additional speakers before the meeting is called to order.

- 5. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 6. Approval of Absentee Ballots
- 7. Pre-processing of Absentee Ballots
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes November 3, 2020 – 2:00 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order on November 3, 2020 at 2:06 p.m. Chairperson Campbell presiding.

Board Members in attendance	: Chairperson Susan Campbell, Secretary Robert Durrah, Member Stuart Russell, Member John Loughridge, and Member Catherine Jourdan
Staff Members in attendance:	Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Michelle Bobadilla, Monica Gary, Kanitha Davis-Englebert, Danielle Malone, Sherry Glen, Stephanie Batalis John Hackworth, John Benson and Paul Simon

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Campbell led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Campbell called for a moment of silence.

Public Comments

Chairperson Campbell called for public comments, providing two minutes for each speaker:

Sam Villegas, 2581 Lockwood Dr., Winston Salem, NC 27103.

Chairperson Campbell and Director Tsujii addressed Mr. Villegas questions regarding the review of provisional ballots and results tape.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Secretary Durrah moved to table the approval of the October 27th, 2020, October 29th, 2020, and November 2nd, 2020 meeting minutes; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of Absentee Ballots

Ms. Gary reported 1,779 civilian ballots, 7 military ballots and 25 overseas ballots equaling 1,811 ballots. Ms. Gary shared with the Board that two voters were contacted about their disapproved ballots and due to the deadline for absentee by-mail ballots to be returned, she suggested to these voters to vote in person. She also presented 8 cure certification letters that were timely returned for the Board to review.

Ms. Gary reported the final absentee by-mail numbers: 1,780 civilians, 7 military, 25 overseas, 8 cure certification letters and, 2 disapproved ballots. The total absentee ballots was 1,812. Member Russell moved to approve the 1,812, but not the 8 cured certification letters and disapprove 2 ballots; seconded by Member Loughridge. Chairperson Campbell, Secretary Durrah

and Member Jourdan opposed. **Motion failed 2-3**. Secretary Durrah moved to approve 1,812 ballots, 2 disapproved ballots and 8 cure certification letters; seconded by Member Jourdan. Members Russell and Loughridge opposed. **Motion carried 3-2**.

Pre-processing of Absentee Ballots:

Director Tsujii asked the Board Members to sign the two zero reports from the high-speed tabulators.

Ms. Gary announced that 10 ballots were pulled to be presented to the Board and disapproved. She explained that the voters with disapproved ballots had already been contacted by phone and letter. There was a total of 12 disapproved absentee ballots. The voters will have until November 12 to cure their absentee ballots. Secretary Durrah moved to disapproved 12 absentee ballots; seconded by Member Loughridge. **Motion carried unanimously**.

Board members continued processing ballots with write-in candidates.

The Board of Elections staff continued to organize election materials while the Board Members observed Director Tsujii and Mr. Clark complete the final steps of Election Day results process.

Other Business

Chairperson Campbell called for other business; none was presented.

Adjournment

Member Russell moved to adjourn the Board meeting; seconded by Secretary Durrah; Motion carried unanimously.

Meeting was adjourned at 12:33 a.m.

Approved:

s/ Susan Campbell

Chair

s/ Robert Durrah

Secretary

s/ Stuart Russell

Member

s/ John Loughridge

Member

s/Catherine Jourdan

Member