BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Ken Raymond Chairman

Secretary

Fleming El-Amin Member



Steve Hines Director of Elections

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS BOARD MEETING MINUTES – November 14, 2014 GENERAL ELECTION CANVASS DAY

Meeting Called to Order

The 2014 General Election Canvass Day meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was held in the fifth floor meeting room on November 14, 2014. The meeting convened at 11:00 AM, Chairman Ken Raymond presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairman Ken Raymond, Secretary Stuart Russell, Member Fleming El-Amin

Staff Members in attendance: Director-Steve Hines, Lamar Joyner, Chris Duffey, Jacob Wright Other County Staff - Assistant County Attorney-Lonnie Albright

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Raymond led the pledge of allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairman Raymond led a moment of silence.

Public Comment Session

Chairman Raymond opened the public comment session with instructions. Speakers were asked to complete a public comment card and would have two minutes or less to speak. The speaker's name and address should be stated for the record. Questions should be included during the allotted time and answers would be given at the close of the session. A speaker's time could not be given to another individual. At the close of the public comment session, no additional statements or questions would be heard from the public. The public comment session included the following speakers:

James Knox - 125 Buckhaven Court, Rural Hall, NC 27045 Susan Campbell - 1208 Brookstown Avenue, Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Katherine Fansler - 1045 Wendover Circle, Winston-Salem, NC 27104

Secretary Russell moved and Member El-Amin seconded a motion to close the public comment session. **Motion carried unanimously.** In response to public comment, the Board addressed voting out of precinct and concerns about Early Voting.

Approval of Provisional Ballots

Mr. Hines presented the Provisional Voters Statistics by Result report showing 443 provisional ballots from the 2014 General Election. Staff recommended 107 provisional ballots for approval, 326 for disapproval and ten for partial count. Reasons for disapproval were unincorporated voters and no registration. Voter registration and updates are processed from the provisional information. Member El-Amin made and Secretary Russell seconded a motion to approve the staff recommendation for provisional ballots as presented. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Counting of Provisional Ballots

Mr. Hines presented to the Board that the staff would like to organize the pre-processed provisional ballots by precinct and start the machine count. Secretary Russell moved and Member El-Amin seconded a motion to follow Mr. Hines recommendation and proceed in organizing and counting the provisional ballots as presented. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Call to Recess

At 12:23 PM, Secretary Russell moved and Member El-Amin seconded a motion to recess the meeting until 12:30 PM. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Call to Reconvene

The Board reconvened in the fifth floor meeting room at 12:30 PM.

Closed Session

Chairman Raymond moved and Member El-Amin seconded a motion for closed session per NCGS 143-318.11(a)(3). Chairman Raymond stated: I move that the Board go into closed session to consult with our County Attorney, Mr. Albright, for legal guidance. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Certify Election Results

Member El-Amin made and Secretary Russell seconded a motion to certify the election results for the 2014 General Election. **Motion carried unanimously.** Board members signed the Abstract of Votes document which would be mailed to the NC State Board of Elections, Forsyth County Clerk of Superior Court and retained at the Forsyth County Board of Elections.

Other Business

The Board set the next meeting date for the recount of the NC Supreme Court Associate Justice for Thurs., November 20, 2014 at 9:30 AM.

Adjournment

Secretary Russell moved and Member El-Amin seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting. **Motion carried unanimously** and the meeting was adjourned at 2:07 PM.

Ken Raymond, Chair

Stuart Russell, Secretary

Fleming El-Amin, Member

Attachments on File: Abstract of votes

Date

Date

Date