# **BOARD OF ELECTIONS**

Mrs. Charles A. Cardwell, Jr.

CHAIR

J. Eric Elliott SECRETARY

John A. Redding MEMBER



## FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS 2005 PRIMARY ELECTION- SEPTEMBER 27, 2005

Present:	Mrs. Charles A. Cardwell, Jr., Chair Mr. J. Eric Elliott, Secretary Mr. John A. Redding, Member
Staff:	Mrs. Kathie Chastain Cooper, Director of Elections Mrs. Laura Gerardi-Dell, Deputy Director of Elections Mrs. Pamela Johnson, Administrative Assistant

#### Call To Order

The Board conducted the election beginning at 6:30 am. The Chair called the formal meeting to order at 2:00 PM.

<u>Approval of Minutes- September 20, 2005 and September 23, 2005</u> Mr. Elliott moved to approve the minutes for September 20, 2005 and September 23, 2005. Mr. Redding seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

## Approval of Absentees

The Board reviewed the absentees. There were 30 recommended for approval and 1 recommended for disapproval, due to the SW ward not being on the primary ballot. Mr. Elliott moved to approve the 30 absentees and disapprove 1. Mr. Redding seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

The Board counted the mail absentee ballots.

The Board recessed at 2:30 PM.

The Board reconvened at 7:25 PM.

## Approval of Sample Ballot for November 8, 2005 General Election

The Board reviewed the proof of the sample ballot for the General Election for the small towns. Mr. Elliott moved to approve the sample ballot for the small towns. Mr. Redding seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

### Disapproval of Absentee Ballots for Southwest Ward

David Crawford, Republican Primary Candidate for the Southwest Ward, withdrew his candidacy, therefore eliminating the need for a Primary in that Ward. The staff recommended that 5 one-stop absentee ballots for that Primary be disapproved and that the ballots not be counted. Mr. Redding moved to disapprove the 5 absentee ballots for the Southwest Ward and that the ballots not be counted. Mr. Elliott seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

### Other Business

At 7:30 PM the approved one-stop absentee ballots were counted.

s:/ Mrs. Charles A. Cardwell, Jr., Chair

s:/ Mr. J. Eric Elliott, Secretary

s:/ Mr. John A. Redding, Member