

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Telephonic Board Meeting Agenda

August 6, 2020 – 5 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments

If you wish to speak, please call the number below at 4:45 pm on the day of the meeting and inform the Board Clerk. You will be recognized to speak during the public comment period in the order your call was received. The Chairperson will also ask for any additional speakers before the meeting is called to order. Members of the public may listen to proceedings by dialing: Phone number: (712) 770-4694 Access code: 814755

- 5. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 6. Consideration of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for the November 3, 2020 General Election
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Closed Session (if necessary)
- 9. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes August 6, 2020 – 5:00 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A special meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order telephonically on August 6, 2020 at 5:02 p.m. Chairperson Campbell presiding.

Board Members in attendance :	Chairperson Susan Campbell, Secretary Robert Durrah (via
	telephone), Member Stuart Russell (via telephone), Member
	John Loughridge, and Member Catherine Jourdan (via
	telephone)

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii and Danielle Malone

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Campbell led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Campbell called for a moment of silence.

Public Comments

Chairperson Campbell called for public comments, providing two minutes for each speaker:

Dot Hill – 4024 Clinard Rd., Clemmons, NC 27012 Karen Dorr – 411 S. Marshall St. #203, Winston Salem, NC 27101 Jane Dougherty – 530 N. Trade St, Winston Salem, NC 27101 Hazel Watson – 3136 Anderson Dr. Winston Salem, NC 27127 Alecia Harriston Madison – 245 Corona Dr.#1, Winston Salem, NC 27103 Malcom Adside – 117 Bradford Lake Ct., Lewisville, NC 27023 Megan Hoyt – 310 Gloria Ave, Winston Salem, NC 27127 Sara Hill Carter – 1928 Ebert Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27103 Patricia Sadler – 2160 Nettlebrook Dr, Winston Salem, NC 27106

Member Loughridge moved to close public comments; Secretary Durrah seconded; Motion passed unanimously.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Secretary Durrah moved to approve the meeting minutes as submitted; Member Loughridge seconded; Motion passed unanimously.

Consideration of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for the November 3, 2020 General Election

Chairperson Campbell addressed the need for a revised One-Stop Early Voting plan and provided an overview of the sites and hours previously proposed at the last meeting. Member Jourdan moved to approve the following hours October. 15-16, 2020 – 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m., October 17, 2020 - 9 a.m.-5 p.m., October 18, 2020 1 p.m.-5 p.m., October 19-23, 2020 - 8 am-7:30 p.m.; October 24, 2020 – 9 a.m.-5 p.m., October 25, 2020 – 1 p.m.-5 p.m., October 26-30, 2020 - 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m., and October 31, 2020 – 9 a.m.-3 p.m. and the following sites: Forsyth County Government Center; Brown & Douglas; Harper Hill Commons, Lewisville Library, Miller Park Recreation Center, Winston Salem First Assembly, Sedge Garden Recreation Center, Sprague Street Recreation Center, Walkertown Library, Clemmons Library; Kernersville Library; Mazie Woodruff Center; Old Town Recreation Center; Rural Hall Library; Southside Library; Winston Lake YMCA; and WSSU- Anderson Center; and Secretary Durrah seconded. Member Russell reiterated his comments from the last meeting that he disagrees with the State Board of Elections Executive Director's ability to direct the county boards of elections to devise their One-Stop plan. He further stated that out of a spirit of good faith that a compromise could be achieved and would be inclined to support a proposal of opening the first Sunday during the One-Stop period, extending the hours for the second Saturday and closing on the second Sunday with all seventeen sites. Secretary Durrah stated his support for Member Jourdan's motion and Member Loughridge stated his support for Member Russell's proposal. The motion passed 3-2, with Member Russell and Member Loughridge voting nay.

Other Business

Director Tsujii informed the Board that Barbara Hanes Burke, Democratic candidate for the Winston Salem City Council Northeast Ward, appeared at the elections office on August 5, 2020 to question the residency of four voters that appeared on Paula McCoy's petition for unaffiliated candidacy of the Winston Salem City Council Northeast Ward. It was determined that three of the four voters did not in fact reside in the Northeast Ward and therefore disqualified their signature for approval. This caused for Ms. McCoy's petition to be de-certified due to not meeting the number of signatures required for candidacy. Secretary Durrah moved to de-certify Paula McCoy's petition for unaffiliated candidacy of the Winston Salem City Council Northeast Ward; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously.**

Chairperson Campbell asked Director Tsujii to discuss how voters may return their absentee bymail ballot for the November 3, 2020 General Election. Director Tsujii provided details on how voters may deliver their absentee ballot in-person or by mail. He also shared the rules for curbside voting and how COVID-19 will impact curbside voting in the upcoming election.

Training Specialist Danielle Malone discussed giving the Precincts Chief Judges and Judges until Wednesday August 12, 2020 to decide on their decision to work this election due to Covid-19. If people are interested in working at a polling site this election they can contact Danielle Malone at the Board of Elections.

Adjournment

Member Loughridge moved to adjourn the Board meeting; Member Jourdan seconded; **Motion** carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 6:23 p.m.

Approved:

- s/ Susan Campbell Chair
- s/ Robert Durrah Secretary
- s/ Stuart Russell Member
- s/ John Loughridge Member
- s/ Catherine Jourdan Member