

# FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

# Telephonic Board Meeting Agenda

# July 30, 2020 – 5 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments

If you wish to speak, please call the number below at 4:45 pm on the day of the meeting and inform the Board Clerk. You will be recognized to speak during the public comment period in the order your call was received. The Chairperson will also ask for any additional speakers before the meeting is called to order. Members of the public may listen to proceedings by dialing: Phone number: (712) 770-4694 Access code: 814755

- 5. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 6. Consideration of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for the November 3, 2020 General Election
- 7. Approval of Facility Fee for New Hope United Methodist Church
- 8. Approval of Reynolda Church as Polling Place for Precinct 802
- 9. Other Business
- 10. Closed Session (if necessary)
- 11. Adjournment

# FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes July 30, 2020 – 5:00 p.m.

## Meeting Called to Order

A special meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order telephonically on July 30, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. Chairperson Campbell presiding.

Board Members in attendance:	Chairperson Susan Campbell, Secretary Robert Durrah (via telephone at 5:48 p.m.), Member Stuart Russell (via telephone), Member John Loughridge, and Member Catherine Jourdan (via telephone)
Staff Members in attendance:	Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Bobadilla and Kimberly Stuck

## **Pledge of Allegiance**

Chairperson Campbell led the Pledge of Allegiance.

## **Moment of Silence**

Chairperson Campbell called for a moment of silence.

#### **Public Comments**

Chairperson Campbell called for public comments, providing two minutes for each speaker:

Karen Dorr – 411 S. Marshall St. #203, Winston Salem, NC 27101 Patricia Sadler – 2160 Nettlebrook Dr, Winston Salem, NC 27106 Anne Wilson – 445 Marshall View Ct. Winston Salem, NC 27101 Hazel Watson – 3136 Anderson Dr. Winston Salem, NC 27127 Alecia Harriston Madison – 245 Corona Dr.#1, Winston Salem, NC 27103 Jim Norris – 943 Panola Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27106 Jane Dougherty – 530 N. Trade St, Winston Salem, NC 27101 Dot Hill – 4024 Clinard Rd., Clemmons, NC 27012 Megan Wait – 310 Gloria Ave, Winston Salem, NC 27127

Member Loughridge moved to close public comments; Member Jourdan seconded; Motion passed 4-0.

# **Approval of Meeting Minutes**

Member Jourdan moved to approve the meeting minutes as submitted; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion passed 4-0**.

## Consideration of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for the November 3, 2020 General Election

Chairperson Campbell addressed the need for a revised One-Stop Early Voting plan and provided an overview of the sites and hours previously approved. She proposed adopting the same plan with the addition of two Sundays and voting hours from 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. on both days. Member Russell stated that he disagrees with the State Board of Elections Executive Director's ability to direct the county boards of elections to devise their One-Stop plan.

Chairperson Campbell moved to recess at 5:38 p.m. Chairperson Campbell called the Board back

from recess at 5:38 p.m. Member Loughridge moved to table discussion until Thursday, August 6, 2020 at 5 p.m.; Member Jourdan seconded; **Motion passed 4-0**.

# Approval of Facility Fee for New Hope United Methodist Church

Deputy Director Bobadilla presented New Hope United Methodist Church's request for an additional \$50.00 for the Primary and \$100.00 for the use of the facility for all elections going forward. Member Jourdan moved approve the adjusted facility fees; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion passed 4-0**.

# Approval of Reynolda Church as Polling Place for Precinct 802

Deputy Director Bobadilla presented Reynolda Church to the Board for approval to replace Summit School as a polling place for precinct 802. Deputy Director Bobadilla provided details for parking and space of the facility noting that the voters will be notified of the change. Member Jourdan moved to approve the replacement, Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion passed 4-0**.

Member Durrah joined the meeting at 5:48 p.m.

Member Jourdan moved to rescind the motion to table the consideration of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for the November 3, 2020 General Election, Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion passed 4-0**.

Consideration of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for the November 3, 2020 General Election Chairperson Campbell brought back the Consideration of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for the November 3, 2020 General Election. Chairperson Campbell moved to approve the following sites Forsyth County Government Center; Brown & Douglas; Clemmons Library; Kernersville Library; Lewisville Library; Mazie Woodruff Center; Miller Park Recreation Center, Old Town Recreation Center; WSSU- Anderson Center; Rural Hall Library; Sedge Garden Recreation Center, Southside Library, Walkertown Library, Sprague Street Recreation Center, Winston Lake YMCA, Winston First Assembly, Harper Hill Commons Shopping Center and the following hours October. 15-16, 2020 – 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m., October 17, 2020 - 9 a.m.-5 p.m., October 18, 2020 1 p.m.-5 p.m., October 19-23, 2020 - 8 am-7:30 p.m.; October 24, 2020 – 9 a.m.-5 p.m., October 25, 2020 – 1 p.m.-5 p.m., October 26-30, 2020 - 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m., and October 31, 2020 – 9 a.m.-3 p.m.; and Member Jourdan seconded. The Board discussed the early voting plan; however, in the interest of transparency due to the plan being tabled early and many in attendance left the call. Member Russell moved to table the discussion until August 6, 2020; Member Loughridge seconded; Motion passed 4-1, with Member Jourdan voting nay.

## **Other Business**

Chairperson Campbell asked Director Tsujii to discuss how voters are removed from the voter rolls. Director Tsujii provided details on the different processes of list maintenance that are run to verify that voter rolls are accurate. Mr. Tsujii also addressed how all absentee ballots are processed and counted. Director Tsujii affirmed that absentee by-mail ballots approved by Election Day are tabulated and included in the unofficial results on election night.

## Adjournment

Member Jourdan moved to adjourn the Board meeting; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion** carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 6:13 p.m.

Approved:

- s/ Susan Campbell Chair
- s/ Robert Durrah Secretary
- s/ Stuart Russell Member
- s/ John Loughridge Member
- s/ Catherine Jourdan Member