

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Telephonic Special Board Meeting Agenda

July 16, 2020 – 5 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments

If you wish to speak, please call the number below at 4:45 pm on the day of the meeting and inform the Board Clerk. You will be recognized to speak during the public comment period in the order your call was received. The Chairperson will also ask for any additional speakers before the meeting is called to order. Members of the public may listen to proceedings by dialing: Phone number: (712) 770-4694 Access code: 814755

- 5. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 6. Approval of Absentee Meeting Schedule for the November 3, 2020 General Election
- 7. Consideration of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for the November 3, 2020 General Election
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Closed Session (if necessary)
- 10. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes July 16, 2020 – 5:00 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A special meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order telephonically on July 16, 2020 at 5:03 p.m. Chairperson Campbell presiding.

Board Members in attendance:	Chairperson Susan Campbell (via telephone), Secretary Robert Durrah (via telephone), Member Stuart Russell (via
	telephone), Member John Loughridge, and Member Catherine Jourdan (via telephone)

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii (via telephone), and Kimberly Stuck

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Campbell led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Campbell called for a moment of silence.

Public Comments

Chairperson Campbell called for public comments, providing two minutes for each speaker:

Dorothy McCoy – 850 Northchester Ln, Winston Salem, NC 27106 Antoinette Joiner – 4308 Carly Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27106 Ken Crumb – 3811 Tiverton Dr, Winston Salem, NC 27105 Diana Gray – 2310 Ardmore Terrace, Winston Salem, NC 27103 Brady Kunz – WFU Winston Salem, NC 27109 Jean Alsup – 940 Kenleigh Circle, Winston Salem, NC 27106 Karen Dorr – 411 S. Marshall St. #203, Winston Salem, NC 27101 Carol Dykers – 2201 Tanners Mill Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27101 Hazel Watson – 3136 Anderson Dr. Winston Salem, NC 27105 Karen Oles – 1144 Martin St, Winston Salem, NC 27103 Jane Dougherty – 530 N. Trade St, Winston Salem, NC 27101 Elizabeth Carlson – 3303 Buena Vista Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27106 Patricia Sadler – 2160 Nettlebrook Dr, Winston Salem, NC 27106

Member Loughridge moved to close public comments; Secretary Durrah seconded; Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Member Jourdan moved to approve the meeting mintues with amendment; Chairperson Campbell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of Absentee Meeting Schedule for the November 3, 2020 General Election

Secretary Durrah moved to approve the Absentee Meeting Schedule for the November 3, 2020 General Election; Member Jourdan seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Consideration of One-Stop Early Voting Plan for the November 3, 2020 General Election Chairperson Campbell addressed prior meetings and voter concerns about early voting sites and hours, the various ways to vote, CDC safety protocols, State Board of Elections procurement of personal protective equipment (PPE), and costs. Director Tsujii addressed the status of securing Hanes Mall Winston First Assembly Church, and Winston Lake YMCA as early voting sites. Director Tsujii also shared current plans for public engagement about absentee by-mail voting and how to educate voters on the voting process as it relates to COVID-19 during the general election. Chairperson Campbell moved to approve the following sites Forsyth County Government Center; Brown & Douglas; Clemmons Library; Kernersville Library; Lewisville Library; Mazie Woodruff Center; Old Town Recreation Center; WSSU- Anderson Center; Rural Hall Library; Sedge Garden Recreation Center, Southside Library, Walkertown Library, Sprague Street Recreation Center, Winston Lake YMCA, Winston First Assembly (with the contingency of Polo Park Recreation Center in the event the church cannot be secured), and Hanes Mall- former Macy's (with the contingency of Harper Hill Commons Shopping Center and Miller Park Recreation Center in the event the mall space cannot be secured) and the following hours October. 15-16, 2020 - 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m., October 17, 2020 9 a.m.-5 p.m., October 19-23, 2020 - 8am-7:30 p.m.; October 24, 2020 - 9 a.m. - 5 p.m., October 26-30, 2020 - 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m., and October 31, 2020 – 9 a.m.-3 p.m.; Member Russell seconded; Motion carried unanimously.

Other Business

Director Tsujii addressed concerns that were brought to the Board's attention regarding Hanes-Lowrance noting that through conversations Mr. Wilson the Hanes side is not available for use as it been taken over by another entity and the Lowrance side was in serious disrepair, did not have access to running water and was a serious security risk for the voting equipment and no additional funds in the budget to refurbish the Lowrance side nor provide extensive security. Director Tsujii stated that an alternate site had already been obtained.

Closed Session

None

Adjournment

Secretary Durrah moved to close public comments; Member Russell seconded; Motion carried unanimously. The Board meeting adjourned at 6:54 p.m.

Approved:

- s/ Susan Campbell Chair
- s/ Robert Durrah Secretary
- s/ Stuart Russell Member
- s/ John Loughridge Member
- s/ Catherine Jourdan Member