BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Ken Raymond Chairman

Stuart Russell Secretary

Fleming El-Amin Member



Tim Tsujii Director

Lamar Joyner Deputy Director

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes May 31, 2016 – 4 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Absentee Ballots
- 6. One-Stop Voting for General Election
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Approval of Minutes
- 9. Closed Session (If needed)
- 10. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes May 31, 2016 – 4 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A statutory meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the second floor meeting room on May 31, 2016. The meeting called to order at 4:00 p.m., Secretary Russell presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairman Ken Raymond (4:30 p.m.), Secretary Stuart Russell, and Member Fleming El-Amin

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Lamar Joyner, Chris Duffey, Monica Gary, and Kimberly Stuck

Other Staff: Assistant County Attorney - Lonnie Albright

Pledge of Allegiance

Secretary Russell led the pledge of allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Secretary Russell led a moment of silence.

Public Comments

Secretary Russell opened the public comment session with instructions. Speakers were asked to complete a public comment card and would have two minutes or less to speak. The speaker's name and address should be stated for the record. Questions should be included during the allotted time and answers would be given at the close of the session. A speaker's time could not be given to another individual. At the close of the public comment session, no additional statements or questions would be heard from the public. The public comment session included the following speakers:

Annette Scippio (St. Peter's Church) – 531 Barbara Jane Ave., Winston Salem, NC 27101 JoAnne Allen – PO Box 284, Winston Salem, NC 27102

Ms. Scippio stated that she would like the Board to consider St. Peter's Church as an Early Voting site, and Ms. Allen spoke regarding a registration matter that was asked of her by a member of the public; she provided the Board with their information.

Secretary Russell motioned to close public comments, Member El-Amin seconded; Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of Absentee Ballots

Ms. Gary recommended 96 for approval and 07 for disapproval that have been resent to gain signatures or other missing information. Director Tsujii provided the totals of 501 for One-Stop

Voters (May 26, 2016 – 218 voters, and May 27, 2016 – 283 voters, with1 – Same Day Registration).

One Stop Voting for General Election

Secretary Russell opened the discussion regarding Early Voting sites. Secretary Russell, Member El-Amin, and staff reviewed and discussed formerly suggested sites as well as new sites offered for consideration. The hour plans, site map, and site limitations were also reviewed and discussed by the Board and Staff. Director Tsujii stated that the latest date to submit a proposal to the State Board of Elections was July 29, 2016; however, would like to submit a plan as early as possible. The Board requested maps of proposed sites for each Board members selections and one that was all-inclusive to assist in the selection process. The Board tabled the discussion for the next meeting.

Other Business

Director Tsujii revisited the Absentee Ballot and One-Stop totals. 96 – Absentee Ballots for approval and 7 for disapproval. Chairman Raymond motioned, Secretary Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of Minutes

Secretary Russell motioned to approve the April 21, 2016 minutes with changes as stated, May 12, 2016 as presented; May 17, 2016 as presented, and May 24, 2016 as presented; Member El-Amin seconded; Motion approved unanimously. **Motions carried unanimously**.

Closed Session

Chairman Raymond inquired of any need for closed session; none stated.

Adjournment

Chairman Raymond moved to adjourn meeting; Secretary Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**. Meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Approved:

Ken Raymond, Chair

Stuart Russell, Secretary

Fleming El-Amin, Member

Date

Date

Date