BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Linda J. Sutton Chair

Michael Flatow Secretary

Jonathan S. Dills Member



Robert H. Coffman Director of Elections

> Lamar Joyner Deputy Director

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS BOARD MEETING MINUTES – NOVEMBER 29, 2011

Call to Order

A regular meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was held in the Cooper Cardwell Elections Room on November 29, 2011. The meeting convened at 5:30 PM, Chairman Linda Sutton presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairman Linda Sutton, Secretary Michael Flatow, Member Jonathan Dills

Board Members not in attendance: none

Staff Members in attendance: Director Robert Coffman, Deputy Director Lamar Joyner, Judy Speas

Guests in attendance: James R. Morgan, Jr. of Womble, Carlyle, Sandridge & Rice, PLLC, Teresa G. Everhart, Risk Manager, Forsyth County Finance Department

Approval of Minutes

Chairman Sutton asked the Board to review the minutes of November 15, 2011. Member Dills moved and Secretary Flatow seconded the motion to approve the minutes of November 15, 2011. Motion carried.

Closed Session (Pending Litigation)

Chairman Sutton introduced the guests in attendance. Present were James R. Morgan, Jr. of Womble, Carlyle, Sandridge & Rice, PLLC and Teresa G. Everhart, Risk Manager of the Forsyth County Finance Department.

Chairman Sutton recommended a motion for closed session for the Board by stating: I hereby move that the Board go into closed session pursuant to North Carolina General Statute Section 143-318.11 (a) (6) to review a complaint against a public officer or employee; and/or, pursuant subdivision (3) to preserve the attorney-client privilege between the attorney and the Board to consider the handling of a claim filed under Forsyth County Superior Court File Number 11 CVS 7133, filed by Plaintiffs Pamela Johnson, Terry Cox and Deena Head against the Forsyth County Board of Elections. Member Dills seconded the motion. The motion carried and the Board went into closed session at 5:37 PM.

Chairman Sutton moved to leave closed session under North Carolina General Statute Section 143-318.11 (a) (6) and (3) and to reconvene the open meeting. Secretary Flatow seconded the motion. Motion carried at 6:03 PM.

Other Business

Mr. Coffman discussed the Early Voting locations needed for the 2012 Primary. He agreed to provide the necessary information for the Board to focus on a decision at the next meeting. Mr. Coffman informed the Board that he and other staff would be in attendance at the Director's Conference on December 12 & 13, 2011.

Adjournment

The next regular meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections will be held in the Cooper Cardwell Elections Room on January 10, 2012 at 5:30 PM. Chairman Sutton moved to adjourn the meeting. Secretary Flatow seconded the motion and the meeting adjourned at 6:12 PM. Motion carried.

Approved:

Linda J. Sutton, Chair

Michael Flatow, Secretary

Jonathan S. Dills, Member

Attachments on File: none

Date

Date

Date