BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Ken Raymond Chairman

Stuart Russell Secretary

Fleming El-Amin Member



Tim Tsujii Director

Lamar Joyner Deputy Director

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes August 11, 2016 – 4 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Early Voting Discussion for General Election
- 6. Other Business
- 7. Approval of Meeting Minutes
- 8. Closed Session (If needed)
- 9. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes August 11, 2016 – 4 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the third floor meeting room on August 11, 2016. The meeting called to order at 4:00 p.m., Chairman Raymond presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairman Ken Raymond, Secretary Stuart Russell, and Member Fleming El-Amin

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Lamar Joyner, Chris Duffey, and Kimberly Stuck

Other Staff: Lonnie Albright – Assistant County Attorney

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Raymond led the pledge of allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairman Raymond led a moment of silence.

Public Comments

Chairman Raymond opened the public comment session with instructions. Speakers were asked to complete a public comment card and would have two minutes or less to speak. The speaker's name and address should be stated for the record. Questions should be included during the allotted time and answers would be given at the close of the session. A speaker's time could not be given to another individual. At the close of the public comment session, no additional statements or questions would be heard from the public. The public comment session included the following speakers:

Joshua Canzona - 50 W. 4th St., Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Linda Petroy - 1324 Berwick Rd., Winston-Salem, NC 27103 Gail McNeil - 1118 S. Hawthorne Rd., Winston-Salem, NC 27103 Debbie Kennedy - 174 Crepe Myrtle Circle, Winston-Salem, NC 27106 Janie Wilson - 1069 E. Kent Rd., Winston-Salem, NC 27104 Elizabeth Motsinger (Board of Education) - 6548 Woodmere Dr., Walkertown, NC 27051 John K. Motsinger Sr. - 6548 Woodmere Dr., Walkertown, NC 27051 Susan Campbell - 1208 Brookstown Ave., Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Mary Friedman – 1110 Yorkshire Rd., Winston-Salem, NC 27106 Linda Sutton (WS Voting Rights Coalition) – 1530 Martin St., Winston-Salem, NC 27103 Charles Wilson - 445 Marshall View Ct., Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Phillip Carter - 1148 E. 5th St., Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Ike Howard (WS/FC NAACP) - 8884 Red Bank Rd., Germanton, NC 27019 Carolyn Highsmith (New South Community Coalition) – 3335 Anderson Rd., Winston-Salem, NC 27127 Robert Durrah - 2456 Kings Gate Dr., Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Anne Wilson - 445 Marshall View Ct., Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Jake Gellar-Goad – 5147 Winster Dr. Apt# 303, Winston-Salem, NC 27106 Catherine Harnois - 2350 Westover Dr., Winston-Salem, NC 27103

Speakers continued:

Cama Merritt – 1244 Arbor Rd., Winston-Salem, NC 27104 Eric Ellison (Forsyth County Democratic Party) – 442 Wachovia St., Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Marty Edwards (WSSU) – 4609 Sun Valley Lane, Kernersville, NC 27284 Jemma Johnson – 3651 Will Scarlet Rd., Winston-Salem, NC 27104 JoAnne Allen – PO Box 284, Winston-Salem, NC 27102 Bobby Ray Wilson (H.U.M.A.N., Inc.) – 2324 Slater Ave., Winston-Salem, NC 27101 Hayes McNeil – 1118 S. Hawthorne Rd., Winston-Salem, NC 27103

Chairman Raymond moved to close public comments; Member El-Amin motioned, Secretary Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Chairman Raymond deferred to Director Tsujii to address comments regarding videotaping of the Board meetings. Mr. Tsujii stated that he would continue inquiring; however, exact cost was not available, though staffing costs for recording the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners' meetings are approximately \$400 per meeting. Director Tsujii noted that preliminary discussions have been had and options are available and will be presented to the Board upon further research and after the November General Election.

Early Voting Discussion for General Election

Chairman Raymond opened the Early Voting discussion stating that modifications were required for the Early Voting plan. Director Tsujii noted that at a minimum the Board of Elections could be open for 17 days; however, the options were five fold:

- 1. The plan previously approved could be extended over 17 days
- 2. Keep the hours approved and add early voting at the Board of Election's office (or nearby alternative site in lieu of the office) for the remainder of the early voting period.
- 3. Create a new plan entirely
- 4. Adopt a new plan for early voting at the Board of Election's office (or nearby alternative site in lieu of the office) only but with extended hours and/or weekend hours as well as remaining open until 5pm on the last Saturday.
- 5. If no action only the Board of Elections office would be open for 17 days opening at 1:00 p.m. on Saturdays.

Director Tsujii deferred back to Chairman Raymond and Board members for further discussion.

The Board members discussed two additional sites offered for consideration by Member El-Amin, St. Paul's United Methodist Church and Sprague Street Recreation Center. The Board discussed the additional sites and hours at length agreeing to modify the majority plan to include St. Paul's Methodist Church and Sprague Street Recreation Center for a total of 17 sites. Additionally, the hours would be modified to include the Board of Elections opening the first week 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The second week would include the sites of the majority plan plus the two additional sites of St. Paul's Methodist Church and Sprague Street Recreation Center, with the hours 10:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, Saturday's 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Member El-Amin requested that Winston Salem State University's Anderson Center be considered as an Election Day polling location for November's General Election as a caveat to the Early Voting plan being considered.

Chairman Raymond called for a motion to modify the majority plan and adopt the new Early Voting plan

which included St. Paul's Methodist Church and Sprague Street Recreation Center, Secretary Russell moved to approve and Member El-Amin seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Director Tsujii stated that the change would be submitted to the State Board of Elections for approval.

Other Business

Chairman Raymond called for other business; none offered.

Member El-Amin called for a point of privilege to address the public to convey that their presence makes a difference.

The 17 sites approved were read for the public and for the record:

- Board of Elections Office
- Brown & Douglas Community Center
- Clemmons Branch Library
- Harper Hill Commons Shopping Center
- Kernersville/Senior Center Library
- Lewisville Branch Library
- Mazie Woodruff Center
- Miller Park Recreation
- Old Town Recreation Center
- Polo Park Recreation Center
- Rural Hall Branch Library
- Sedge Garden Recreation Center
- Southside Branch Library
- Sprague Street Recreation Center
- St. Paul United Methodist Church
- Walkertown Branch Library
- W R Anderson Jr. Center (Reynolds Park)

Approval of Minutes

Chairman Raymond called for the approval of the minutes. Secretary Russell moved to approve the minutes for July 18, 2016, July 15, 2016, July 01, 2016, and June 14, 2016; Member El-Amin seconded, **Motion carried unanimously**.

Closed Session

Chairman Raymond inquired if there was a need for closed session; none offered.

Secretary Russell thanked the public for coming to the meeting.

Adjournment

Chairman Raymond motioned to adjourn, Member El-Amin seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**. Meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

Approved:

Ken Raymond, Chair

Stuart Russell, Secretary

Fleming El-Amin, Member

Date

Date

Date