BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Ken Raymond Chairman

Stuart Russell Secretary

Fleming El-Amin Member



Tim Tsujii Director

Lamar Joyner Deputy Director

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes March 08, 2016 – 5 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Absentee Ballots
- 6. Equipment Testing
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Approval of Minutes
- 9. Closed Session (If needed)
- 10. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes - March 08, 2016

Meeting Called to Order

A regular meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the fourth floor meeting room B /C on March 08, 2016. The meeting called to order at 5:00 p.m., Chairman Ken Raymond presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairman Ken Raymond, Secretary Stuart Russell, and Member Fleming El-Amin

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Lamar Joyner, Chris Duffey, Monica Gary, and Kimberly Stuck

Other County Staff: None

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Raymond led the pledge of allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairman Raymond led a moment of silence.

Public Comment Session

Chairman Raymond opened the public comment session with instructions. Speakers were asked to complete a public comment card and would have two minutes or less to speak. The speaker's name and address should be stated for the record. Questions should be included during the allotted time and answers would be given at the close of the session. A speaker's time could not be given to another individual. At the close of the public comment session, no additional statements or questions would be heard from the public. The public comment session included the following speakers:

Anne G. Wilson - 445 Marshall View Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27101

Chairman Raymond moved to close public comments; Member El-Amin motioned, Secretary Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

The Board addressed Ms. Wilson's inquiry regarding posting of the campaign finance reports on the web. Chairman Raymond deferred to Director Tsujii for early voting statistics; Mr. Tsujii stated that 4,764 voters had participated in the One-Stop Early Voting as of March 07, 2016; Kernersville reporting the highest turn out. Eighteen of 19 provisional ballots had been cast due to party changes. Director Tsujii addressed publishing Early Voting statistics on the website.

Approval of Absentee Ballots

Ms. Gary recommended 546 stateside absentee ballots for approval 30 absentee ballots were disapproved due to deficiencies and were re-issued to the ballot holders for resubmission; 29 UOCAVA ballots were submitted. Ms. Gary stated that 990 absentee ballots had been issued as

of March 7, 2014. Chairman Raymond moved to accept staff recommendations as presented, Member El-Amin motioned; Secretary Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously.**

Equipment Testing

Director Tsujii deferred to Deputy Director Lamar Joyner to discuss equipment testing. Mr. Joyner provided the Board with the results of the equipment tests performed by Carlton Morgan, Fred Falin, and Darryl Richie for review and signature. Deputy Joyner provided an overview of the testing process. Secretary Russell recalled Mrs. Allen's comments regarding testing of the equipment. Member El-Amin requested clarification of the machines in use. Deputy Joyner noted for the public that the M100 reads the bubble marked on paper ballots however, if any other mark is provided the M100 will be unable to read it. Member El-Amin noted that those ballots would require manually count and tallying.

Other Business

Chairman Raymond called for other business. Director Tsujii offered a clarification regarding campaign finance reports noting that hard copies are stored for examination in the lobby.

Approval of Minutes

Chairman Raymond moved for approval of the minutes dated February 23, 2016 as provided; Secretary Russell motioned, Member El-Amin seconded the motion. **Motion carried Unanimously**.

Closed Session

Closed Session not required

Adjournment

Chairman Raymond moved to adjourn meeting; Member El-Amin motioned; Secretary Russell seconded. **Motion carried unanimously**. Meeting adjourned at 5:21 p.m.

March 08, 2016 Meeting Minutes Approved:

Ken Raymond, Chairman

Stuart Russell, Secretary

Fleming El-Amin, Member

Date

Date

Date