BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Susan Campbell Chairperson

Stuart Russell Vice Chairman

Robert Durrah Secretary

John Louchridge Member



Tim Tsujii Director

Lamar Joyner Deputy Director

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Agenda April 02, 2018

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Swearing in of Board Members
- 6. Appointment of Officers
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Organizational Meeting Minutes April 02, 2018

Members Oath of Office

Forsyth County Board of Elections members were sworn and or affirmed into office individually before Forsyth County Clerk of Court, Susan Frye.

Meeting Called to Order

An organizational meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the second floor meeting room on April 02, 2018 at 12:05 p.m. by former Secretary Russell.

Members in attendance: Stuart Russell, Member Susan Campbell, Robert Durrah, and John Loughridge.

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Lamar Joyner, and Kimberly Stuck

Other: Forsyth County Clerk of Superior Court - Susan Frye

Pledge of Allegiance

Secretary Russell led the pledge of allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Secretary Russell led a moment of silence.

Public Comment Session

Secretary Russell called for public comments, none offered. Member Campbell moved to close public comments, Secretary Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously.**

Appointment of Officers

Director Tsujii provided an overview of the rules for appointment provided by State Board of Elections Executive Director Kim Strach as well as the make up of the Board officers in July.

Mr. Durrah nominated Susan Campbell for Chairperson; Mr. Russell seconded the nomination and the **nomination carried unanimously.**

Chairperson Campbell called for nomination of Vice Chair. Susan Campbell nominated Stuart Russell for Vice Chair; Mr. Durrah seconded the motion and the **nomination carried unanimously**.

The Board nominated Robert Durrah for Secretary; Mr. Loughridge seconded the nomination and the **nomination carried unanimously**.

Chairperson Campbell, Vice Chairman Russell, Secretary Durrah, and Member Loughridge thanked former Chairman Ken Raymond for his service on the Board. Chairperson Campbell

called former Chairman Raymond to the front to present a plaque for recognition of his years of service on the Board of Elections.

Other Business

Director Tsujii turned the meeting over to Deputy Director Joyner to discuss polling locations. Mr. Joyner stated that the former Oak Summit United Methodist Church in precinct 081 was no longer willing to serve as a polling location and staff had already researched other locations that could take the place of Oak Summit United Methodist Church. Deputy Director Joyner stated staff had reached out to Crestwood Baptist Church which resides outside, but contiguous to the precinct lines. Mr. Joyner stated that Crestwood Baptist Church if used would have to be approved each election; however, this location will serve as a good option even though it is out of precinct, because of the short timeframe to send out the required notifications to voters. Mr. Joyner stated that best practice would be to have the new location for both the Primary and the General so as to prevent any confusion by voters in the same election year. Director Tsujii stated that the Board would need to take immediate action to meet the requirements of N.C.G.S. § 163-130.1. Mr. Joyner stated that the location was contiguous to the precinct lines, site meets ADA and securing voting equipment. Vice Chairman Russell moved to approve the precinct change for 081 to Crestwood Baptist Church; Chairperson Campbell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Director Tsujii stated that there would be a mandatory Absentee meeting April 10, 2018. Mr. Tsujii also stated that there would be additional organizational requirements that would need to be addressed during the meeting.

Adjournment

Secretary Durrah moved to adjourn; Vice Chairman Russell seconded; Meeting adjourned at 12:45 p.m.

Approved:

Susan Campbell, Chair

Stuart Russell, Vice Chair

Robert Durrah, Secretary

John Loughridge, Member

Date

Date

Date

Date