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Forsyth County 
Office of Environmental Assistance and Protection 

REGISTRATION FORM - LAND CLEARING OPEN BURNING 

Instructions 

1. In accordance with Forsyth County Air Quality Technical Code (FCAQTC) Rule 3D .0202, this form is for registering 

land clearing open burning activities, including the use of air curtain burners.  

2. This registration must be submitted to the Forsyth County Office of Environmental Assistance and Protection at least 

seven (7) days before the anticipated initiation of the open burning.  An in-office visit with open burning staff is 

necessary.  You may bring this form with you when you come. 

3. Open burning of land clearing debris is prohibited in Forsyth County unless all of the following requirements are met: 

 The wind direction at the time that the burning is initiated and as forecasted by the National Weather Service during 

the time of the burning are away from any area (including public roads within 250 feet of the burning) which may 

be affected by smoke, ash, or other air pollutants from the burning. 

 The location of the burning is at least 500 feet from any dwelling, group of dwellings, or commercial or institutional 

establishment, or other occupied structure not located on the property on which the burning is conducted.  

 Only land cleared plant growth is burned (kerosene, distillate oil, or diesel fuel may be used to start the fire). 

 Initial burning begins only between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m., and no combustible material is added to 

the fire between 6:00 p.m. on one day and 8:00 a.m. on the following day. 

 No open burning is allowed on days with air quality forecasts of code “orange”, “red” or “purple.” 

 No fires are started or vegetation is added to existing fires when the North Carolina Forest Service has banned 

burning for that area. 

 Materials are not carried off-site or transported over public roads for open burning unless the materials are 

transported to, either: (1) Permitted Air Curtain Burners facilities; or (2) A location, where the material is burned 

not more than four times per year; is at least 500 feet from any dwelling, group of dwellings, or commercial or 

institutional establishment, or other occupied structure not located on the property on which the burning is 

conducted, there are no more than two piles, each 20 feet in diameter, being burned at one time, and the location is 

not a permitted solid waste management facility. 
 
4. Registration of land clearing open burning activities does not provide approval or any determination by the Department 

that the proposed open burning activity will meet the exceptions to the open burning prohibition under FCAQTC Rule 

3D .1903(b)(2). 

5. Failure to register or satisfy all the exceptions will be considered violations of the FCAQTC subject to enforcement 

action including civil penalties not to exceed $25,000 per violation per day. 

6. Registration forms should be submitted to: 

Forsyth County Office of Environmental Assistance and Protection 

Forsyth County Government Center 

201 N Chestnut St, 5th Floor 

Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27101-4120 

Fax: (336) 727-2777 or bring to office when you visit 

7. For further assistance call the Office of Environmental Assistance and Protection at (336) 703-2440. 

For the local air quality forecast go to http://www.forsyth.cc/EAP/dailyforecast.aspx. For wind forecasts in Forsyth 

County go to http://forsyth.cc/EAP/localweather.aspx and click on “Click here for latest NWS forecast”.  Check just 

prior to burning to assure the most recent forecast. 

   

http://www.forsyth.cc/EAP/dailyforecast.aspx
http://forsyth.cc/EAP/localweather.aspx
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A Permit must be obtained from the North Carolina Forest Service (NCFS) prior to any burning.   

A permit from NCFS does not exempt you from the provisions of the Air Quality Regulations.  

 Contact the Forsyth County Ranger for more information about the NCFS Permit at 336-767-7269. 

 

REGISTRATION FOR LAND CLEARING OPEN BURNING 

 

Company Name:       Phone #:     

 

Responsible Company Official:      Fax #:      

 

Physical/Mailing Address:           

 

Site Street Address or Location:           

 

Site Supervisor:       Phone #:     

 

Anticipated Start Date:     Expected Duration:   (days)  Operating Hours     

 

Acreage Being Cleared:        Approximate Debris Tonnage:     

 

Describe how the burning will be conducted including any measures intended to ensure that the exceptions to 

the open burning prohibition under Rule 3D .1903(b)(2) will be satisfied:_____________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Have you attached the following information? Yes No 

1.   A scaled county tax map for the area being cleared and burned that shows property lines and all 

building/residence locations.   

Note: You may have to scale in a building/house if the tax map is not up to date with the area being developed. 

 
 

2.   Are all burn pile locations sited on the county tax map? 
 

 

3. Are circles drawn indicating 500 feet from each burn pile (250 feet for air curtain burners) and a 

250 feet circle to show distance from roads? 
 

 

4. Is this burning being done for routine maintenance or property clean-up activities not connected 

with new construction or other development?  If you answer “yes” to this question, you may not be able 

to perform this land-clearing open burning activity.  Call the Department to discuss your options. 

 
 

I certify that I am familiar with the information contained in this form and that to the best of my 

knowledge and belief such information is true, complete, and accurate. 

                                                                                                          

Signature of Responsible Company Official   Date 

                                                                          

Printed Name/Title 

             Send to: Forsyth County Office of Environmental Assistance and Protection 

     Forsyth County Government Center 

     201 N Chestnut St, 5th Floor 

     Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27101-4120  

     Fax:  (336) 727-2777 


