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National Research Facts 

SOME SIGNS OF ABUSE 

• Bruises, black eyes, welts,     
lacerations, and rope marks 
• Bone fractures, broken bones, skull 
fractures 
• Open wounds, cuts, punctures, 
untreated injuries in various stages of 
healing 
• Broken eyeglasses, physical signs 
of being subjected to punishment 
•Reports of being hit, slapped, kicked, 
or mistreated 
• An elder’s sudden change in 
behavior 

• Threats and intimidation causing 
mental anguish 
 

SIGNS OF EXPLOITATION 

• Stolen ATM, Debit, or Credit Cards 
by caregivers or family members 

• Signing deeds to real property, loan 
papers or withdrawal slips through 
deception or coercion 
• Abuse of Power of Attorney 
authorization 
• Telemarketing/sweepstake scams 

• Investment fraud 
 

SIGNS OF CARETAKER  
NEGLECT/SELF NEGLECT 

• Pressure Ulcers 
• Unsafe and/or unsanitary living 
conditions 
• Lack of medical care 
• Malnutrition and/or dehydration 
• Hoarding 
• Poor hygiene 
• Not wearing suitable clothing for 
the weather 
• Confusion 
 

MOST FREQUENTLY NAMED 
PERPETRATORS 

• Adult Child 
• Spouse, Other Relatives 
• Non-Relative Caretaker 
• Facility Staff 
 

For More Information Contact 
North Carolina Division of Aging and 

Adult Services 919.733.3818 
www.ncdhhs.gov/aging 

 

Your Local Social Services 
www.ncdhhs.gov/dss/local 

One elderly person is victimized 
every 2.7 minutes. (National Center on Elder Abuse 2006) 

 

Data on elder abuse in domestic settings suggest 
that only 1 in 14 incidents, excluding incidents of  
self-neglect, come to the attention of authorities.  

[Pillemer, Karl, and David Finkelhor. 1988.  
"The Prevalence of Elder Abuse: A Random Sample Survey."] 

 
Older adults who are abused are 3 times more likely  

to die within 10 years than those who are not. 
 

North Carolina Facts 
According to the North Carolina Adult Protective 

Services Register, 78% of the reports were on 
adults with disabilities living in their own homes, while  
about 22% of the reports were on individuals living in 
long term care facilities. 

NC’s Adult Protective Services (APS) law provides 
protection to all adults age 18 and older who have a 
disability and who are abused, neglected or exploited. 

Older adults comprise the majority of those  
receiving APS in North Carolina.  69% were 60 years 
of age or older.  Women comprised 63% of all reports  
and men 37%. 

17.5% of NC’s total population is 60 years of age and 
older. 

68% of the reported adults were White, 30% were Black,  
1% was Native American, and the remaining 1% were  
Hispanic, Asian and others. 

North Carolina’s APS law requires each of NC’s 100 
county departments of social services across the state to 
respond to reports alleging adults with disabilities have 
been abused, neglected or exploited and are in need of 
protective services. 
 

 

The Face of Elder Abuse 
The public has not embraced elder abuse as a public 

policy issue. This type of family violence hovers below 
the nation’s consciousness. It lacks a coherent public 
identity.  The elder adult’s suffering is often in silence. 

 
Women, 80 years of age and older, who live in a domestic  

setting comprise the majority of Elder Abuse reports. 
 

The risk of elder abuse seems to be particularly high 
when adult children live with the elder adult.  These 
adult children often need their parent(s) support  
because of personal problems, such as mental illness, 
alcohol or drug abuse. 

 
Abusers may be dependent on their victims for money, 

housing, and other forms of support and often isolate 
them from other family members and friends. 

 
Self Neglect accounts for the majority of the 

cases reported to Adult Protective Services. 


